EU-China workshop on 5G

Speaker: Arturo Azcorra represents 5TONIC at this event with the presentation “Challenges in EU-China 5G Trials”.

Date: 12 July 2017

Location: European Commision, Avenue de Beaulieu 25, room BU25 0/S1, B- 1160 Brussels, Belgium

EU and China have, for many years, been investing in the fifth generation of mobile communication networks (5G) and are actively collaborating with global players in related activities, such as research and innovation, standardisation and spectrum.

This workshop aims at bringing together representatives from the key 5G initiatives in China and Europe, the IMT-2020 Promotion Group (China) and the 5G PPP (EU).

Telecom operators, vendors, service providers, universities and research institutes from both regions are invited to present the latest 5G developments, their future plans, and to discuss together concrete opportunities of collaboration in two hot topics of the 5G R&I area: i) 5G Trials and ii) The Internet of Connected Vehicles.

The workshop is co-organised by the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT - China) and the Directorate-General for Communications Network, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT - EU).


Full list of participants:

China officials

Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT)

  • Mr. CHEN Zhaoxiong, Deputy Minister of MIIT China;
  • Mr. LIANG Zhifeng, Deputy Director General, General Office;
  • Mr. CHEN Yin, Director general of science and technology department of MIIT
  • Mr. WEN Ku, Director general of telecom development department of MIIT;
  • Mr. CHEN Jianjun, Deputy Director General, Department of International Cooperation;
  • Mr. ZHEN Kai, Consultant (Director Level), Department of International Cooperation;
  • Ms. CHEN Jiachun, Deputy Director General, Department of Communications Development
  • Mr. ZHAO Ce, Director, Department of Science and Technology;
  • Ms. LI Xin, Officer, Department of International Cooperation.

China Academy of Information and Communications Technology (CAICT, advisory body of the MIIT)

  • Ms. WANG Zhiqin, Vice President;
  • Mr. GE Yuming, Senior Engineer;
  • Mr. XU Shan, Assistant Engineer.

Other participants

  • BEDESCHI Alessandro, 5G Infrastructure Association;
  • TIAN Daxin, Beihang University;
  • GÖTHEL Joachim, BMW AG Munich;
  • LI Yusheng, Changan Automobile;
  • LOU Feifei, China Mobile;
  • FALLGREN Mikael, Ericsson;
  • GREENWOOD Sarah, Ericsson;
  • DILLINGER Markus, Huawei Europe;
  • CHEN Yang, Huawei Technologies;
  • GRAZIANO Tony, Huawei Technologies;
  • HU Huadong, Huawei Technologies;
  • JEFFERIES Nigel, Huawei Technologies;
  • JIANG Yafei, Huawei Technologies;
  • ZHOU Hong, Huawei Technologies;
  • ZOU Liqiang, Huawei Technologies;
  • SCHULZ Egon, Huawei Technologies Düsseldorf;
  • GONZALEZ José, InterInnov;
  • MAGEN Jacques, InterInnov;
  • POTTS Martin, Martel Innovate;
  • ZHANG Kai, Martel Innovate;
  • BOURSE Didier, Nokia;
  • WILLCOCK Colin, Nokia;
  • STANESCU Alin, Qualcom;
  • LEURQUIN Christine, SES;
  • DE PEPPE Raffaele, Telecom Italia;
  • AZCORRA Arturo, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid;
  • DEMESTICHAS Panagiotis, University of Piraeus, Professor;
  • TAFAZZOLI Rahim, University of Surrey;
  • EL ASSAAD Ahmad, Volkswagen;
  • ABBAS Taimoor, Volvo Car Corporation;
  • PAROLARI Sergio, ZTE Corporation;
  • WANG Xinhui, ZTE Corporation;
  • XU Ling, ZTE Corporation;
  • LIU Jie, ZTE Corporation;
  • CAO Aijun, ZTE Wistron Telecom AB.